Floodplain Management Advisory Committee

The Floodplain Management Committee is appointed to advise Council on the development and implementation of floodplain risk management plans for various catchments within the Tweed Shire.

Committees objectives

  • To provide a forum for the discussion of technical, social, economic, environmental, and cultural issues associated with floodplain management
  • To distil possibly differing viewpoints into floodplain management plans

In fulfilling the above objectives the following shall be considered:

  • Existing flood risk - flood damages, emergency response capability
  • Future flood risk - development, climate change impacts
  • Flood mitigation measures - structural measures, property modification, development controls
  • Community awareness - formulate and implement measures to raise awareness of flooding in the community by education programs and distribution of information
  • Floodplain Development Manual

Terms of reference(PDF, 212KB)



Committee members

  • Felicia Cecil
  • Robert Quirk (David Bartlett alternate)
  • Steven Smith (Jenny Kidd alternate)
  • Max Boyd
  • Samuel Dawson
  • Thomas Rehfeld
  • Jenna Ford

Council involvement

  • Cr Chris Cherry
  • Cr Meredith Dennis - Alternate
  • Danny Rose - main contact
    Manager Roads & Stormwater
    Email drose@tweed.nsw.gov.au
    Call 02 6670 2476 
  • David Oxenham - Director Engineering
  • Doreen Harwood - Enterprise Risk and Emergency Management Officer
  • Leon McLean - Engineer Flooding and Stormwater
  • Lindsay McGavin - Manager Development Assessment and Compliance
  • Stuart Russell - Senior Strategic Planner



Meetings will be arranged as required, to coincide with milestones for flood and risk management studies, or as other flood matters within the scope of considerations arise. Meetings are generally infrequent.

Posted Minutes are subject to confirmation and any recommendations contained therein are subject to Council endorsement