Mapping and zoning


As of 1 December 2021, a reference to an Environment Protection zone E1, E2, E3 or E4 in a document should be taken to be a reference to a Conservation zone C1, C2, C3 or C4. For further information please see Standard Instrument (Local Environmental Plans) Amendment (Land Use Zones) Order 2021

Use Council’s online mapping to:

See Tweed online mapping tips(PDF, 381KB)

How do I know what zone I'm in?

Across the Tweed there are different land use zones including:

  • Rural (e.g. RU1)
  • Residential (e.g R1)
  • Business/commercial (e.g. B1)
  • Industrial (e.g. IN1)
  • Special/tourism (e.g. SP1)
  • Recreation (e.g. RE1)
  • Nature (e.g. E1)
  • Waterways (e.g. W1)

These zones reflect the type of development that is expected to occur in the area.

The following documents set out the types of development that can be undertaken in each zone: 

See land use and planning controls

Tweed Open Data Hub 

open-data-logoUse Council's Open Data Hub to download spatial data for features such as land and roads, fauna and vegetation, community facilities and buildings.