Development Control Plan (DCP)

DCP - Section A DCP - Section B 

The Tweed Development Control Plan contains detailed guidelines that show the controls that apply to a particular type of development or in a particular area.

A DCP implements the Far North Coast Regional Strategy and supplements the Local Environmental Plan and is made according to the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979.

For information on draft DCPs currently being developed or under review see planning future land use.

Tweed DCP 2008 - Section A

Section A1 - Residential and tourist development

Section A2 - Site Access and Parking

Section A3 - Development of flood liable land

Section A4 - Advertising signs

Section A5 - Subdivision

Section A6 - Biting midge and mosquito control

Section A7 - Child care centres

Section A8 - Brothels

Section A9 - Energy smart homes

Section A10 - Exempt and complying development

Section A11 - Public notification of development proposals (repealed)

Section A11 - Public Notification of Development Proposals was repealed on 3 December 2019.

Council’s notification and consultation procedures are now contained within the Tweed Community Engagement and Participation Plan(PDF, 5MB)

Section A12 - Dual occupancy (repealed)

Section A12 - Dual Occupancy Controls was repealed on 29 April 2008. Read more about dual occupancy.

Section A13 - Socio-economic impact assessment

Section A14 - Cut and fill on residential land (repealed)

Section A14 - Cut and Fill on Residential Land was repealed on 29 April 2008. Read more about earthworks and disposal of fill.

Section A15 - Waste minimisation and management

Section A16 - Preservation of trees or vegetation

Section A17 - Business, enterprise corridor and general industrial zones

Section A18 - Heritage

Section A19 - Biodiversity and habitat management

Tweed DCP 2008 - Section B

Tweed Development Control Plan Sections - specific sites

Section B1 - Terranora

Section B2 - Tweed City Centre

Section B3 - Banora Point - Tweed Heads South

Section B4 – West Kingscliff

Section B5 – Casuarina Beach

Expand Section B6 – Murwillumbah West

Section B7 (repealed) – Cobaki Lakes

Section B8 – Keith Compton Drive

Section B9 – Tweed Coast Strategy

Section B10 – Koala Beach

Section B11 – Seaside City - Repealed 13 April 2016

Section B12  Fraser Drive, Banora Point

Section B13 - Marana Park Estate Density Controls

Section B14 - Peter Street (South) Residential Development Controls

Section B15 - Seabreeze Estate - Pottsville

Section B16 (repealed) – Kingscliff

Section B17 - Planning Controls - Friday Island, Bogangar

Section B18 (repealed) - Tweed Coast Building Heights

Section B19 - Bogangar / Cabarita Beach Locality Plan

Section B20 - Uki Village

Section B21 - Pottsville Locality Based Development Code

Section B22 - Murwillumbah Town Centre

Section B23 - Hastings Point

Section B24 - Area E Urban Release Development Code

Section B25 - Coastal Hazards

Section B26 - Kingscliff

Section B27 - 61 Marana Street Bilambil Heights

Section B28 - Club Banora