Skip to Display Options Skip to Main Content
Coronavirus (COVID-19): Get the facts from the NSW Government. View Council's response to COVID-19 and the impact to services and facilities.
Aboriginal Acknowledgement A -  |  A +
Skip Navigation Links Home : : Our Community : : Water and Wastewater : : Wastewater

Email Link   Wastewater

Did you know... Wastewater is about 0.1 per cent waste and about 99.9 per cent water. The 0.1 per cent waste includes organic, inorganic and biological matter such as soaps, detergents, cleaning agents, toilet paper, faecal matter, urine, grit, oil, fats, bacteria and viruses.

Wastewater is the name given to water after it goes down the drain. It does not include roof water or surface run-off. It is important for all residents to understand that what goes down their drain can damage to the Tweed Shire's wastewater system. This is particularly the case for infiltration from the following sources:

  • Groundwater
  • Illegal sewer connections
  • Roof water discharged directly into sewers
  • Broken pipes
  • Overland flow directed into sewer
  • Low yard gullies
  • Manhole leaks

In addition to adding to the cost operating the sewerage system, infiltration causes sewer overflows, damage to pipes as well as overloading pump stations and treatment plants. Council is active in reducing infiltration and in some cases, penalties apply. See Offences and Penalties.

This section provides information on Council's wastewater treatment plants, the processes involved in treating wastewater and the relevant environmental standards.

Wastewater System

The Tweed Shire Council maintains the following wastewater infrastructure:

  • 713km of wastewater mains

  • More than 185 pumping stations

  • Eight wastewater treatment plants

Wastewater from your property drains to one of more than 185 pumping stations in the Tweed. From there, it travels via wastewater mains to a wastwater treatment plant where the waste is removed. This is done so the water can be safely reused or returned to the environment. See Treatment Process and Standards.

Wastewater Treatment Plants

Wastewater treatment plants are located at Banora Point, Hastings Point, Kingscliff, Murwillumbah, Uki, Tumbulgum, Tyalgum and Burringbar. These wastewater treatment plants collect and treat 7800 mega litres of wastewater per year, of which 825 mega litres is recycled and re-used.

For information relating to buffer zones for wastewater treatment plants refer to the NSW Water Directorate STP Buffer Zone Land Use Planning Guidelines.

Visit Us

Council will occasionally advertise and hold public open days at wastewater treatment plants. School excursions can also be arranged through Council.

Last Updated: