Skip to Display Options Skip to Main Content
Coronavirus (COVID-19): Get the facts from the NSW Government. View Council's response to COVID-19 and the impact to services and facilities.
Aboriginal Acknowledgement A -  |  A +
Skip Navigation Links Home : : Council : : Councillors : : Local Government Elections

Email Link   Local Government Elections

Elections for Tweed Shire Councillors

Tweed Shire Council is governed by 7 Councillors who are elected to represent the shire (there are no wards or divisions).

The election process is managed by the NSW Electoral Commission (external link).

Our Councillors are elected for a 4-year term of office.

The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by the Councillors in a process managed by Tweed Shire Council. The Mayor is elected at the first meeting of the Council for a period of 2 years, the Deputy Mayor is elected for 1 year.

Are you considering running for Council?

Council is hosting a series of candidate briefings in March and April 2021 to provide a thorough understanding of the role of Councillor, ahead of the NSW Local Government elections on Saturday 4 September 2021.

The 4 briefing sessions will be hosted by former Mayor of Lismore Jenny Dowell OAM, with the support of Council and Local Government NSW.

Potential candidates need only attend 1 session, with the same content to be repeated at each event.

Book a Murwillumbah session Book a Tweed Heads session

ALGWA NSW Women’s Forum

Women interested in running for Council at the upcoming NSW Local Government election are invited to attend a free forum to be hosted by the Australian Local Government Women’s Association of NSW.

The forum forms part of a state-wide campaign aimed at encouraging more participation by women in local government ahead of the poll on Saturday 4 September 2021.

The forum will be held in the Harvard Room at Tweed Heads Administration Office on Tuesday 27 April from 10am – 12pm, immediately prior to the Candidate Briefing sessions to be hosted by Council later that day.

The Women’s Forum is free of charge, but bookings are limited due to COVID-19 restrictions. Prospective female candidates interested in attending the forum should make a booking.

Make a booking

Local government elections will be held on Saturday 4 September 2021

The NSW Government postponed the September 2020 Local Government elections for 12 months to address the risks posed by COVID-19.

The 2021 NSW Local Government elections will take place on Saturday 4 September 2021.

Tweed Shire’s current councillors will continue to hold their civic offices until the rescheduled local government elections.

The postponement of the next election (external link) will not change the future schedule of council elections, and the subsequent election will still proceed in September 2024.

For more information please visit the NSW Electoral Commission (external link).

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Tweed Shire Council the contact for NSW State Elections?

Last Updated: