Having trouble viewing this email?View online

Media release

20 July 2021

Tweed Shire Council

Council elections to proceed under COVID-Safe guidelines

Pre-poll, iVote and postal voting expanded

Person voting

The electoral roll and non-residential roll closes at 6 pm on Monday 26 July for the local government elections.

NSW Local Government elections will go ahead as planned on Saturday 4 September, with pre-poll, iVote and postal voting expanded to allow greater flexibility and safety for voters during the current COVID-19 situation.

Administered by the NSW Electoral Commission on behalf of Tweed Shire Council, any person who is enrolled to vote may vote by pre-poll for the 2021 election.

iVote will also be available and operate in the same way it does for state elections.

Additionally, the existing eligibility criteria for those able to use postal voting has been expanded to include:

  • permanent or temporary residents in a hospital, nursing home, retirement village or similar facility
  • anyone self-isolating because of COVID-19 related reasons
  • anyone who reasonably believes attending a polling place on election day will pose a risk to their health or safety of themselves or those around them, because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Applications for postal voting will open from 27 July to 30 August. The deadline for the receipt of postal votes has been extended to 6 pm on 17 September, pushing out the date for the declaration of the poll until as late as 6 pm on Thursday 23 September. However, electors are encouraged to return their postal votes as soon as possible.

General Manager Troy Green said Council was working closely with the NSW Electoral Commission to ensure the delivery of a COVID-Safe election.

“An extensive COVID-Safe plan has been put in place by the NSW Electoral Commission and our team to ensure the election is undertaken in as risk-free a setting as possible,” Mr Green said.

“Measures undertaken include the requirement of Service NSW QR codes, larger voting venues to accommodate physical distancing, hand sanitiser dispensers and increased cleansing of screens and general areas. Single use pens will also be handed out for those who forget to bring their own pens, while the usual face masks will be required.”

Meanwhile, registration for candidates is currently open. Registered candidates must also nominate to have their name included on the ballot paper, with nominations opening on Monday 26 July and closing strictly at 12 noon on Wednesday 4 August.

The NSW Office of Local Government is encouraging people from all walks of life to stand for their community to increase diversity in local government.

The Stand for Your Community – Diversity Counts campaign is targeting women, younger people, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander residents, and members of multicultural communities. To find out more, visit the Office of Local Government website

There are 7 councillor positions at Tweed Shire Council, with all positions to be contested.

Councillors elected in September 2021 will serve a reduced 3-year term after the 2020 election was postponed by 12 months due to COVID-19. The future schedule of Council elections will not be impacted by this change, and the subsequent election will still proceed in September 2024.

For those residents not yet enrolled to vote, please note the electoral roll and non-residential roll closes at 6 pm on Monday 26 July.

For further information, including key dates and how to register as a candidate, visit the NSW Electoral Commission at www.elections.nsw.gov.au or phone 1300 135 736.


Photo 1: The electoral roll and non-residential roll closes at 6 pm on Monday 26 July for the local government elections.

Tweed Shire Council Newsroom

To view all media releases, please visit our website. Visit our subscribe page to view our other subscription offerings.
Tweed Shire Council logo

© Tweed Shire Council
Web: tweed.nsw.gov.au/newsroom
Email: communicationstsc@tweed.nsw.gov.au
Phone: 02 6670 2136

Facebook     Instagram     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn

Aboriginal Acknowledgement